The Balanced PlateThe Five Food Groups

A healthy diet means combining foods from the five food groups and should include:

  • plenty of starchy and fibrous foods like bread, pasta and potatoes  
  • at least five portions of fruit and vegetables a day
  • some meat, fish or alternatives like nuts and beans
  • some milk and dairy foods like cheese and yoghurt
  • limit the amount of fatty, sugary foods and drinks like crisps, biscuits, cakes and fizzy drinks

Eating a healthy diet doesn’t mean you can’t eat the foods you enjoy. The most important thing is to eat lots of different foods, and know how much of each is good for you.


PDF Document The Eat Well Plate

PDF Document Healthy Eating for School-Aged Children

The above documents are in PDF format which is the global standard for document sharing. If you don't already have it installed, you can download the free Adobe Reader software by clicking on the icon below:

Get Adobe Reader
Click to visit the Health Challenge Wales web siteClick to visit the Neath Port Talbot CBC web siteISO 9001 Bureau Veritas Certification